Hive Poker

Online Poker Traffic
& News Since 2006
PokerScout -- Online poker traffic rankings and news. February 27, 2017
46191 players












24H







Click here for more information about PokerStars

Note: Reviews claiming that poker sites are rigged (not dealing cards randomly or fairly) are hidden by default. Read the explanation for this and other review policies, or click here to see all reviews, including claims that PokerStars is rigged.


PokerStars has a weighted average rating of 3.4 out of 10 from a total of 322 reviewers

Note: The opinions expressed here are solely those of our readers. PokerScout does not review or endorse any poker sites.
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Monday, April 11, 2016
Title:Rip off2 out of 4 readers found this review helpful
 
Rip off and scam. Do not buy play chips. They take and take and take.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:2 / 10
By:reckoner_ots
Date:Monday, April 04, 2016
Title:Looks good but no!!2 out of 4 readers found this review helpful
 
I have tried out a lot of rooms.

Party Poker and Absolute Poker is my 2 first rooms, playing with some no-deposit free money. It was fun. Until I moved on to Fulltilt, I felt a bit strange because good hands and crazy hands happen often, I thought it was just variance. And then when I tried out ipoker and 888, the I saw a lot of bad beats too, more often than at Party Poker. By then, I started to think its the norm.

And then 2 years ago, I joined Pokerstars for its huge player base and great promotions. So let me give you a few remarks:
(+) Stable software with a clean, pro (albeit dull) look
(+) A lot of settings so we can adjust everything to our liking
(+) Good, reliable mobile software
(+) Fast cashouts

So why I give Pokerstars a 2??
(-) Action flop, runner up turn and river to push up action
(-) A lot of donks (or bots) calling with anything and they often get a miracle out at the river
(-) AA vs 55 all in and AA probably only wins 60-65% of the times...
(-) SnG table have ante right at the start, to (again) push up the action
(-) PS is a private company, they do whatever they like
(-) Their managers and employees all look like thieves and villains

So after wasting several hundred dollars on Pokerstars, I decided to quit and went back to Party Poker. Man I was shocked, much less bad beats, less suck outs, less psychic Russians.. It felt like real poker again.

So stop playing at Pokerstars. I regret wasting my money there. Pokerstars is as big a scam as Communism. Do you guys think you get away with all the free $$ from Pokerstars' promotions?? NO WAY! THEY WILL STEAL ALL BACK FROM YOU.

PLAY AT PARTY POKER! It is a genuine poker rooms. I feel really sad about Party Poker not having more player than it deserves, just because it does not have action flops and ridiculous promotions!

Be smart!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Saturday, March 08, 2014
Title:I am one out of 50 million,and Pokerstars completely know how I play ..????3 out of 4 readers found this review helpful
 
Totally change your identity completely everyday before a tournament and you might
win some money, or muster 500 different personalities and use ONE every tournament.
That will at least puzzle Pokerstars for 500 games .. LOL
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:optional
Date:Sunday, May 17, 2015
Title:Used to be a superb site2 out of 3 readers found this review helpful
 
People have mixed emotions about Pokerstars and everyone is entitled to his or her own opinions in any regard.

My post concludes pokerstars as far worse than it has been since it started, my bullet points are as follows what has dropped the site and to why I have left.

- Rake > Points is way harder and its extremely tougher to get VPP's cashback
- Herds of traffic is using Huds so the gameplay is a lot tougher
- I have to side with Vicky Coren on this, opening a casino on Pokerstars was a disaster mistake and put in the same shoes as Vicky I would have done the same in her position.
- Spin and Go has forced gambling into poker, this format of Spin & Go's being a hyper turbo has no form of skill in the game. There is high volume complaints of people playing for 2x prizepools, overall this format of games is a major loss for players Bankrolls . Work it out over 1000 Spin and Go's divided by 3 players its not really rocket science.
- Zoom tables, this is one of the times its believable the more hands you play the more prone you are to badbeats and always rioting against premium hands and sitter boards. Also if you were to calculate how many times a player auto-tops up and has to fold to steals in the BB it really becomes horrendous, People who make a living off Zoom is extremely minor % of players , let alone the players who scrape through even , make small losses, or just go bust on consecutive Big Blinds.
- Rebuy tournaments are pretty standard , but still the Late registration is at least 30min extra too long and the amount of rebuys that have to go through before add on is a complete joke at those blind levels.

For most reasons everything the Pokersite introduces or shadows from other networks is more profiting to the site and has left out the best interest of its own traffic players. People say the site needs to make money or can go out of business and so they rave on, then how it that Sports players like Neymar, Ronaldo, Nadal and all these celebs are now regularly getting signed up the front page of of website? With messages of how they play poker and how they enjoy the game, these people that are currently professionals have to stay fit, practice and make other major commitments to there own lifestyles. It really is depressing to see Sports stars in line of marketing before Real Poker players who actually play exceptionally long hours to make the cut in poker.

I can already see the line of Pokerstars and its pretty convincing the next step will be Pokerstars Sports betting. Practically shadowing the other networks and to completely destroy its competition. Happy for Pokerstars business but its no longer my place to play poker, I'm currently almost 3 months off Pokerstars and will enjoy playing on other networks. My points are valid in my opinion, Stand by it or defend it. Its just the way business is and either grows substantially or deteriorates gradually.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:5 / 10
By:bambi
Date:Saturday, April 21, 2012
Title:fast withrawal good traffic nothing else12 out of 18 readers found this review helpful
 
Site full of nits not worth of time if u want to climb up the stakes fast, the only good thing is fast withdrawals and huge traffic. 5/10
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:SQUEAKLTD
Date:Wednesday, September 28, 2011
Title:easy deposit... impossible cash-out12 out of 18 readers found this review helpful
 
It's only if and when you begin to win a little and desire to make a CASH-OUT that you realize... These scum-bag criminals make it real easy to deposit... but IMPOSSIBLE TO CASH-OUT.

I'm torn between hating myself for having allowed myself to be taken for years... and hating those LOW-LIFE CRIMINALS who have scammed me. I hope they all go to jail for a very long time...

SQUEAKLTD
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:8 / 10
By:jfk
Date:Tuesday, March 25, 2008
Title:The world's largest poker site.221 out of 323 readers found this review helpful
 
Poker Stars has emerged in the post-UIGEA playing environment as the largest, most popular poker site. Stars works as hard as any site to maintain their reputation as being a safe, fair, customer friendly place to play. The software is fast and stable. Player funds are safe and secure. Customer service is polite and responsive. Stars goes out of its way to listen to customers and make changes for the better.

The good: Beyond the high level of service and the safety of player funds, game selection is a major advantage of playing at Stars. For a hold 'em player there may be a dozen or more games available at the level one wishes to play. A tournament player has a vast array of offerings from which to choose ranging from very high stakes to micro limits or freerolls. Stars offers an array of games unmatched by other sites. Among the games offered 2-7 Triple Draw, 5 Card Draw, HOSE, HORSE, Razz and 7 Stud Hi/Lo.

Tournament players who want to challenge themselves in the biggest, richest online events are going to find the Stars is the place to play. Stars also offers a wide variety of satellites to major live tournaments both in the United States and abroad.

Stars is very mindful about battling artificial intelligence programs (bots), collusion and multi-accounters. Stars seems to care as much or more than any site about the integrity of their games. Poker Stars has been free of major scandal, something that is increasingly rare for online poker sites.

The bad: Stars is one of the more expensive places to play for the recreational player. Stars marketing touts the generosity of their VIP Club, but for most players Stars is actually much less generous than most other competing sites which offer a player rakeback. For even a Gold and Platinum level player the level of generosity is generally lower than that which can be had at other sites. Only when a player reaches the highest levels, levels attained by player hundreds of thousands or millions or hands annually does the Stars VIP program make sense. Another downside to Stars is the large population of multitabling, software aided, high volume players. In even the lowest stakes a significant portion of the opponents in a game are players with 12+ tables open who tend to make the games quite tight.

The ugly: None. Stars works very hard to make sure they maintain their status as the world's largest site.

Stars is perfect for:

Players who want to play many different non-hold 'em games.

Players who don't want to wait to find a game.

Players who want to play high dollar amount tournaments.

Players to whom safety, security and customer service is important.

Players who want to take every opportunity to satellie their way into a major live event, like the WSOP.

Players who intend to play very high volumes to take full benefit of the highest tiers of the Stars VIP program.

If you are a mid-volume player who badly wants to make money at cash games but will most likely never play hundreds of thousands of hands annually, you'll be better off at another site. Stars is outstanding in many ways. It is a shame that the level of rake is such that it can't always be the top choice for serious players.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Friday, December 11, 2015
Title:Margin Call1 out of 2 readers found this review helpful
 
Yip, margin call everyone . Things are really going downhill at Pokerstars. Cannot quite understand how these big companies work really but its not going well at all with the new 2016 changes. Every poker player on the planet knows a recreational player is 90% of the time going to join 888 or Unibet because thats what they specialise in period. Playtech or iPoker the second biggest network in online poker is now offering weekly cashback, not every single skin but some of them and Winner poker probably has one of thee best vip programs according to VIP Status. As well to mention iPoker skins are marketed in so many sports boards which you see live on television. Back to pokerstars, they are trying to attract recreational players now and use signings of sports stars which actually represent zero in online poker, not one bit and launching massive freeroles. When I started online poker years ago I felt like someone who could stand a chance to start something from small fields, why the hell would someone want to play freeroles with 20000+ people, it makes zero sense. Freeroles should be under 4 hours max but pokerstars knowing the way they do things would make it this sensational race, really i dont see the fun in all of this.

Pokerstars forgets that networks like iPoker are recreational and sports book / casino specialists where the main holders of traffic recreational players are likely to join. 888 as well without a doubt because they have funky graphics which in my opinion going years back I would definetely join 888 if I was new to poker, recreational players do not know what rakeback is and all the in depth stuff so why does this make such a huge difference to pokerstars by removing supernova VIP RB etc, People have been saying for years now pokerstars is going to slip up at some point with bad decisions and I would confidently say Amaya is taking pokerstars to the ground, it actually gives people like Isai Scheinberg more credit for when he was still running the site sore to say.

Pokerstars new changes you should really take note if you a low limit depositing player or any limit really is you cannot withdrawal 1-2 Im sure its 2 days / 48 hours after a recent deposit, this is Amaya people not Isai Scheinberg, that alone saw my closure from this place 6 months ago. You cannot find another site on the net that does this. Except WPN network, caution note : WPN after you deposit whatever amount only allow you to withdrawal after you have raked 10% of the total deposit which I could not find in the terms and conditions and left that hole network as well, avoid that place as well.

Given that 888 cannot offer a weekly RB system because of their traffic and could dump their business, iPoker is in my opinion probably head strong at the moment in online poker and Is probably the few networks that dont need Ronaldo and neymar signings to bloom traffic because for some good reason iPoker generally sells themself. Choose your sites carefully from now!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:2 / 10
By:mrs.trellis
Date:Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Title:Fair Game??0 out of 0 readers found this review helpful
 
Amaya CEO Baazov Hit With Insider Trading Charges

March 24th, 2016 Author: B. Solomon







0
EmailShare







It has been a hell of a week for the world’s largest online gaming operator, Amaya Inc. On Monday, the Canadian company made a much-anticipated return to the US market, but the positive news for players in the US was marred for those around the globe after PokerStars also announced a rake charge increase scheduled for March 28th.

In a further worrying development for Amaya, the company’s CEO David Baazov has now been hit with insider trading charges and “attempting to influence the market price of the securities of Amaya” by the Quebec Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF). If found guilty, offenders are likely to face “stiff fines as well as prison terms”.

The investigation stems from the 2014 acquisition of PokerStars by Amaya for $4.9 billion, and specifically the heavy shares betting which took place a few months before the deal was announced. As a result, a total of 23 charges have so far been levelled against David Baazov, and his childhood friend Benjamin Ahdoot, as well as against former Amaya adviser/lender Yoel Altman. Three other companies also face charges from the AMF, including Diocles Capital inc,, Sababa Consulting inc., and 2374879 Ontario inc.

“We have made suppressing illegal insider trading and market manipulation a top priority, as this type of conduct profoundly affects public confidence and the integrity of our markets,” explained AMF President Louis Morisset.

Nevertheless, David Baazov said he would vehemently contest the AMF’s “false” allegations, and said that he still intends to pursue his plan of taking the company private. In the meantime, shares in Amaya plunged after the charges were announced, and at the end of Wednesday finished lower by 20.5% at CAD$14.75 per share. Over the past 52 weeks, Amaya shares have fluctuated from CAD$13.71 to 37.53, and over the past year the company has lost -53.46% of its value. As of today, Amaya shares are currently trading at 15.10, giving it a market capitalization of CAD$2.20 billion


AND WE WONDER WHY THEY ARE SCAMMING RECREATIONAL PLAYERS LOOKING FOR A DECENT GAME!!!!!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:peed aff
Date:Tuesday, October 07, 2014
Title:SHAM7 out of 11 readers found this review helpful
 
Never even got to play! They held my money for 3 months while they `investigated` me. I only got my money back because I was constantly on the phone to the `investigators`. No explanation has been given even though I asked. This is a common thing with pokerstars so watch out folks!!!!!
 
Was this review helpful?

Page  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  




Copyright 2006-2015 PokerScout.com.  All rights reserved.
Do not copy, redistribute or republish without prior written consent.