Hive Poker

Online Poker Traffic
& News Since 2006
PokerScout -- Online poker traffic rankings and news. March 26, 2017
47652 players












Play now at Duck Poker







Click here for more information about PokerStars

Note: Reviews claiming that poker sites are rigged (not dealing cards randomly or fairly) are hidden by default. Read the explanation for this and other review policies, or click here to see all reviews, including claims that PokerStars is rigged.


PokerStars has a weighted average rating of 3.3 out of 10 from a total of 326 reviewers

Note: The opinions expressed here are solely those of our readers. PokerScout does not review or endorse any poker sites.
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Sunday, January 10, 2016
Title:Because I dared question Pokerstars they withheld my $450 in winnings 01/162 out of 6 readers found this review helpful
 
I have to first start by saying that back in 2005 I won $5000 on an $11 re-buy on PokerStars.
I withdrew $4400 and left $600 on there to make an attempt at making it rich. I had been playing very frequently in live games with friends, the odd tourney and even a weekly free 80-100 person tourney that was held every Wed at a small pub in the Annex in Toronto. Daniel Nagraneau even hosted the event on a couple occasions. I was feeling very good about my abilities as a poker player. I also simply loved the game. I would play everyday if I could.

Two things happened that are worth mention after I won and withdrew this money from PokerStars. One was that I never came close to winning another $1 on PS no matter how I tried; The bad beats were incredible...going into the river with A high flush and losing to a rivered full house etc etc. It was constant. I finally sent an email to Pokerstars support to which they replied that their cards are examined by whatever body and that their algorithims are checked often blah blah.
The second thing i did was move out to Calgary from Ontario that same year. I began playing on party poker and Full Tilt as i wasnt too sure about PS anymore but I inevitably went back to PS because no-one else's software could compare. So i started up under a different screen name and account.
An aquaintance of mine transferred me $10 one day to repay a poker debt from a home game. His screen name was keenbrad on Pokerstars.

Well as it turns out keenbrad had somehow managed to scam 20 or 30 bucks out of Pokerstars through some sort of debit transaction. I never seen the guy after that period but Pokerstars managed to trace my new account back to keenbrad a year or so later and froze my account until i provided them with proof that i was not him...they forced me to send them a copy of my licence which i finally did after a few months of not playing on their site.
The problem was I really wanted to play poker whenever i wanted and so i finally caved and send them proof of ID. Account was eventually freed and I played off and on for years.

Fast forward to today where i had began to play a bit more frequently again and again under a new screen name. I again sent a email to Pokerstars expressing displeasure with the constant loses when going into the turn and river with the higher hands. Again a massive explanation as to why their cards are fair and it takes thousands of hands..blah blah blah

Guess what? Suddenly my account was frozen again due to my association with keenbrad!! I have an entire email chain to share if anyone can help me spread this around as POkerstars is as corrupt as I thought and then some. I have $450 American in my account and they simply tell me to tell keenbrad to resolve his issue with them...like this is somehow my fault that the lost 20 bucks 7 years ago..what a JOKE. I am sure they are just fking with me and have no intention of giving me my money..Is this legal for them to do?? - ungerwear




 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:2 / 10
By:No Worries
Date:Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Title:The worlds largest Poker site3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
PokerStars has a weighted average rating of 2.1 out of 10 from a total of 691 reviewers

*This is brilliant info, Its the worlds largest site which possibly the lowest ratings, Message to Scheinberg , "As long as I'm off your site, You're second best" .
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:deilegend
Date:Saturday, November 28, 2015
Title:Since when is poker an honest game...3 out of 8 readers found this review helpful
 
This is not about knocking down those that believe that they've been had at one poker site or another because, in all certainty many many players have been cheated on sites over the years, Pokerstars included.

In the same breath, many players have been cheated in live poker games as well, whether in private cash games or in casino cash games and even some tournaments, for many more years than in internet poker.

Internet poker will always be video poker's cousin because the goal of companies operating poker sites is to make money. In order to do that they have to be able to do what live poker rooms operators couldn't ever do and that is, to keep the eco system flush so players stay and play rather than go broke and never come back.

On sites like Pokerstars, you have perhaps half the cash game seats occupied by multiple table players. These players generate most of the revenues for the site's cash games division. So you can understand that Pokerstars is not about to regulate those players and limit them to playing one table as the company would loose at least half of its revenues...

So multi table players flourish and they are somewhat successful because they will spread their bank roll over ten or twenty tables and play against your two hundred bing blinds with their two thousand big blinds. That means that all they have to do 90% of the time is shove ten or twenty blinds bet at you to push you off a pot.

That to me is an unfair practice at any stake but, what is disturbing for the game here is that this happens at low level stakes games, which prevents new players from learning and building confidence in their game.

This brings poker back to its glory days where successful players weren't necessarily good players, they were rich players that could shove enough money to discourage the most intrepid gamblers of a game...

I believe that this issue could be corrected if regulators forced poker site operators to post the statistics of these multiple table players so everyone whom invests money on a table could at least see the total amount of the bank roll these players have against them.
Then, segregate multiple table players from single table players.

For example, if I'm playing at only one $1/2 table, and I have a bankroll in my account of $1,000.00, poker site operators should give me a choice of tables whereas the other players have the same bank roll I got or, give me a choice of tables whereas the other players have a history of maintaining a similar bank roll as mine.

Otherwise what Pokerstars and other sites should do is, at the very least, post a ledger with the names and statistics of their multiple table players so they can show how much money the company makes off the action of these players, whom lost against these players and finally how much these players make off their play at multiple tables per sessions.


Start with a level field and then let the deception begin.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Friday, January 02, 2015
Title:Rip-Off1 out of 2 readers found this review helpful
 
I continue to buy chips which is my fault. Esample: just purchased 165 million chips approximately one hour ago, and PS has taken back 153 million. This is a total rip-off website. They continue to take and take and take.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:4 / 10
By:CaptDave
Date:Monday, May 13, 2013
Title:C'mon, really?3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
I tried PS with a $100 deposit and very quickly decided it was risky, stupid, and not why I was playing poker online.
I now play there regularly, mostly for "practice", to see hands, a little for the odd fellowship and fun, and to get that trill of the quad or straight flush, which occurs quite often and gives me a genuine rush.
Anyone playing poker with "real" money online is, well, to be blunt, STUPID. You are facing an avatar, in some cases a bot, in a one-dimensional world where a "tell" is non-existent.
To me, this is NOT poker. Or the place to play for "real". Sorry, I keep repeating this train of thought; to the "haters" and whiners, the sad sacks and sore losers, take your hard-earned bucks and go to a genuine real, live casino or card room, and play where at least you can look the donkey in the eye and bluff your way to a nice pay-off.
Don't blame PS or FT for making money off your lack of common sense. Go to these online poker sites to learn, watch, enjoy, free of the worry of losing REAL money. It's entertainment, plain and simple.
Entertainment!
However, it IS fun and there IS true value in improving your poker skills, intuitions, ability to roll with the punches (even those that are rigged) and exit a better, more experienced player, ready for the real games.
Shuffle up and deal.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Thursday, July 03, 2014
Title:Top MAN10 out of 19 readers found this review helpful
 
I really don't owe anyone an explanation but Ill give one...

First off, I don't owe poker a single thing. I've been fortunate enough to benefit financially from this game, but I have played it long enough to see the ugly side of this world. It is not a game where the pros are always happy and living a fulfilling life. To have a job where you are at the mercy of variance can be insanely stressful and can lead to a lot of unhealthy habits. I would never in a million years recommend for someone to try and make it as a poker pro.

It is also not a game where the amateurs are always happy to be losing their money for the sake of entertainment. The losers lose way more money at this game then winners are winning. A lot of this is money they cant afford to lose. This is fine of course because if someone is dumb enough to gamble with money they cant afford to lose, that's their problem. Im not really buying that though. In a perfect world, markets are based on informed consumers making rational transactions. In reality sadly that's not the case, markets are based on advertising trying to play on peoples impulses and targeting their weaknesses in order for them to make irrational decisions. I get it if someone wants to go and play poker on their own free will, but I don't agree with gambling being advertised just like I don't agree with cigarettes and alcohol being advertised.

It bothers me that people care so much about poker's well being. As poker is a game that has such a net negative effect on the people playing it. Both financially and emotionally.

As for promoting myself, I feel that individual achievements should rarely be celebrated. I am not going to take part in it for others and I wouldn't want it for myself. If you wonder why our society is so infatuated by individuals and their success, and being a baller, it is not that way for no reason. It is their because it serves a clear purpose. If you get people to look up to someone and adhere to the "gain wealth, forget all but self" motto, then you can get them to ignore the social contract which is very good for power systems. Also it serves as a means of distraction to get people to not pay attention to the things that do matter.

These are just my personal views. And yes, I realize I am conflicted. I capitalize off this game that targets peoples weaknesses. I do enjoy it, I love the strategy part of it, but I do see it as a very dark game.

Happy to read any ones opinions that could convince me otherwise of my views.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Sunday, November 01, 2015
Title:Pokerstars.net WORST Customer Service EVER. Ignorant, self righteous1 out of 3 readers found this review helpful
 

I had been signed up wit Pokerstars.net for about 4-6 years now and I just recently started playing real money games. A couple of things of interest: Especially different then other sites:

1. You can time when your going to start having good hands.
2. K's Q's and 9's show up more then any other cards and very noticeably.
3. A's rarely win

My biggest complaint is when I started missing money?? I finally realized with the help of Entropay where the money was going. When I deposit to Entropay they charge the exchange. So my funds in
Entropay are now in US dollars. When I deposited money from entropay to Pokerstars, Pokerstars would again charge me the exchange fee??? How they could charge an exchange from US Dollars to US dollars and charge the exchange rate I can't figure out? How could there computer do this? must be weirdly programmed! They had done this about 5 or 6 times now for about 15.00 a time, so they owe me about $75.00! they refuse to pay it and claim it is my fault?? Before I contacted them I searched to see if I could fix this problem myself. After about an hour of trying things nothing worked to Sync up the exchange fees. There was a drop down button that said it was in Canadian fees at Pokerstars but it couldn't be changed. I got upset and demanded my fees back and Support said this drop down button worked but they closed my account before I could even clean it out or take screen shot of this button not working. They were very unprofessional and rude if you don't agree with them. I will never play there again just for that let alone the weird algorithm they are using to deal cards. It's crazy how bad it is!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:8 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Saturday, February 09, 2013
Title:best poker site on the net right now3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
First of all, I'm not saying it's not rigged or that it is, no one didn't prove whether it is or is not rigged yet, both sides seems to give solid arguments and from my personal experience the bad beat frequency does sometimes seem very high, enough so that even i out of pure frustration a.k.a tilt start to believe it's rigged, however a good player will get his chips in behind a lot of the time if the situation is appropriate and will suckout a lot too, for example shoving blind on blind in a tournament for 8bb with any two cards and getting called by a big hand and winning. So the bad beats seem to even out in the long run if you play enough. Same is with coolers (KK vs AA) sometimes you will be on the losing end next time on the winning end, it all evens out in the long run. The main difference between a winning player and a losing player is maximizing value when you're ahead and minimizing loses when you're behind and that means knowing your opponent and his tendencies and of course controlling tilt, or at least trying to control it. Controlling tilt is pretty much the most important skill you can acquire as a poker player. Feel free to think it's rigged, and i detest people who say that it can't be rigged ,it's definitely possible, every sane rational guy knows that, but i guarantee you, if you study the game enough and play enough your edge will start to show, you have my word on that.

As for the site, overall i like it, i played on party poker, william hill, 888 and a bunch of others and they are all mediocre compared to pokerstars. The software is very practical and easy to use, multitabling is a breeze. The traffic is big so the games fill up quickly, tons of game variety for any type of player. Support is fine they always answered me in couple of hours time, didn't have any problems with them, and best of all, super fast cashouts unlike other sites where you have to wait days sometimes even weeks. So if you want play poker online this is by far the best site out there and the only one i can recommend. GL at the tables!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Saturday, June 09, 2012
Title:only good for extreme volume players that can take advantage of the VIP5 out of 8 readers found this review helpful
 
let me start with the positive , banking is very good , i personally like the software layout and ease of play , possibly the best table and betting window from all the sites i know , player transfers are fast and u can sell T$ and the VIP program is very good and due to the huge volume u can usually can find a game ( not just no limit holdem )of your choice at almost any stake .

i've played semi pro for 3 years and i can tell you that i wont play the site unless i get a stake , I WILL NOT USE MY OWN MONEY ON THERE , and i wont even take a stake if it is for a short period of time , is not very large AND i keep everything related to the VIP program .... the place is so bad that it represents 90% of my stakes that have ended down 25% or more and i have only had 2-3 stakes that have made decent profits , most of the money that i have made on there has come from vpps where i bought into the major tournaments with points and was staked to play them therefore got to basically trade points for cold cash and cash in my share of the odd decent win.

an example of how bad the place is.... in 2010 i played 12 pots late in trnys (100 players left or less) which a win would have resulted into a top 5 position at the time. out of the 12 pot i had 0 coin flips , 2 7/3 and 5 over pairs , the other 5 were post flop 1 top set called a bluff shove no pair no draw and lost to runner runner ,the other 4 garden variety big favorite and lost ALL 12 pots , i am talking about turning gold into lead time after time.

i also never really looked into it more closely but i remember looking up the sunday million winners i do believe it was for the month of august 08/09 or 2010 and 3 weeks in a row it was players that were in their first trny ever on stars ....if anyone had the time to dig the dirt u will see that it's true and just for fun calculate the odds of that happening...

in short , if u have heaps of money and play 12 or more tables the VIP program may allow you to show some profit or if you get staked like i do. but all and all if you are an advanced player you basically are just keeping yourself away from possible decent profits playing somewhere better as every minute on there keeps u away from other sites.





 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:No rating
By:reg
Date:Thursday, January 03, 2013
Title:where's a reg to play3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
where's a reg to play? top 10 sites have an average rating of 2. am I suppose to ignore these ratings?
 
Was this review helpful?

Page  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  




Copyright 2006-2015 PokerScout.com.  All rights reserved.
Do not copy, redistribute or republish without prior written consent.