Hive Poker

Online Poker Traffic
& News Since 2006
PokerScout -- Online poker traffic rankings and news. June 22, 2017
35132 players












Vevo Gaming







Click here for more information about PokerStars

Note: Reviews claiming that poker sites are rigged (not dealing cards randomly or fairly) are hidden by default. Read the explanation for this and other review policies, or click here to see all reviews, including claims that PokerStars is rigged.


PokerStars has a weighted average rating of 3.2 out of 10 from a total of 332 reviewers

Note: The opinions expressed here are solely those of our readers. PokerScout does not review or endorse any poker sites.
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Monday, July 21, 2014
Title:Treats You Like A Criminal3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
I opened a second account for my wife - a play $ account by the way - and was immediately frozen ... well, after I paid $9.99 for some chips. When I enquired, I was sent an email asking for photocopies of my driver's license, bank account statement, etc.. Yeah right. I told them no ... and they continued their demands for this highly personal information (again, for a play money account). Bottom line, they were treating me like a criminal. I just wanted my wife to enjoy learning the game. I will not play there again and am offended by their nastiness.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:humantraffic
Date:Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Title:Extremely terrible network and site2 out of 4 readers found this review helpful
 
I have played in over 6 networks and over 14 sites for the most part bonus whoring. Pokerstars has the least value when it comes to making money.

This is my experience which is out of the norm compared to over 10 sites I have played on over the past 6 years.

This is just from less than 1 hour of play:

Zoom
Duplicate hands especially 2 high cards and even high pocket pairs
Saw quads 3 times on my table playing 2 tables at once
software is extremely laggy and only highly responsive during community deals
run it twice I chopped 6/7 hands (3 of which a straight board flop to river)

Only positive was MTT prize pools but the fields are way too large.

Fulltilt is completely different to Pokerstars , understandably of course. 1/10 for pokerstars because the deposit and withdrawal is hassle free like Fulltilt. But not an exceptional site, the marketing over rides the whole experience all and all.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:2 / 10
By:No Worries
Date:Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Title:The worlds largest Poker site3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
PokerStars has a weighted average rating of 2.1 out of 10 from a total of 691 reviewers

*This is brilliant info, Its the worlds largest site which possibly the lowest ratings, Message to Scheinberg , "As long as I'm off your site, You're second best" .
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Skill of the Camel
Date:Thursday, March 12, 2015
Title:The 3 elements of poker via Observation1 out of 2 readers found this review helpful
 
This is what me as a poker player look for first . I dont really care about the players, if they use HUD's, where they are from, whats there recent Tournament history. Never mind that. These 3 things are the utmost importance to me to ensure a site is 100% smooth.

Number 1:

Does the software run exactly at the same speed, so this would be the table deal first, the flop speed, the way the turns are dealt, and lastly the river I always check if there's a lag and if so did that card improve my opponent and at what %. If there is an allin preflop, how quickly are the 5 cards opened up and was the turn and river faster than usual for a hold up. Dealing of card sound effects, Pokerstars I have very well noticed for collision sounds for flops (some), and different sound effects on some turns and weird rivers. (Rating 1/10 unstable)

Number 2:

Always look at the rebuy tournaments. Take the number of entries, deduct that from the prize pool. Open up multitables (max) to see patterns of action boards or if the player base is gambling. Pokerstars has this solid ability of consecutive deals of high pockets. Players are not gambling ridiculously, it would be a lie if anyone told you this. Its mostly cooler city.
The rebuy periods are standard lengths. Pokerstars 100% of the time reaches the guaranteed prize pool between 50-75% into the late registration period, the ultimate insurance classic in the 30000 add on rebuys, those tournaments can potentially see small bankroll players go BUST just from playing 1 simple tournament because of the length of LR / and of course these heavy blind levels which before Addon period is the starting stack / rebuy same value pricing which is absurd. (Rating 1/10 for a huge reason being that poker online is promoted as a game of skill and luck to supporting countries, some countries feel online poker is a form of gambling, well judged by these rebuy tournaments, who could possibly not blame countries and other governments for this? This is gambling at its utmost best whether any Poker Pro, Site , Affiliate or beginner likes to admit it or not. In other words its playing a casino slot machine with an ante level with a time limit.

Number 3:

VIP rakeback program. I'm sorry, 1/10 straight up. The reward program of FPP's has decreased so well that even new depositing players cannot see the light at the end of the tunnel. This is the MOST IMPORTANT factor for online poker and mostly factors a little insurance for break even players. This one really hit the billboards with a slap in the face to recreational, low, and as much as medium stake players. Players can not be happy with this change , but Poker to some players is a living. it will get worse eventually so its best to make up your mind now and know where you stand in online poker.

Other Mentions:

This bites the dust for any player signed up or not to see. ZOOM TABLES. Yes Zooming. Opening 6 tables with OBSERVE feature and not 1 single Pre fold in days of watching? Woah!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:pokerpolice
Date:Thursday, March 05, 2015
Title:still cheaters1 out of 2 readers found this review helpful
 
nobody should play there because they all are members of a cheating company, and they play with housplayers, it means this players see and knows more from the coming cards!!!!!!!!!
complete pokerstars must be in prison for all time!!!!!!!!!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Friday, January 02, 2015
Title:Rip-Off1 out of 2 readers found this review helpful
 
I continue to buy chips which is my fault. Esample: just purchased 165 million chips approximately one hour ago, and PS has taken back 153 million. This is a total rip-off website. They continue to take and take and take.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:4 / 10
By:CaptDave
Date:Monday, May 13, 2013
Title:C'mon, really?3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
I tried PS with a $100 deposit and very quickly decided it was risky, stupid, and not why I was playing poker online.
I now play there regularly, mostly for "practice", to see hands, a little for the odd fellowship and fun, and to get that trill of the quad or straight flush, which occurs quite often and gives me a genuine rush.
Anyone playing poker with "real" money online is, well, to be blunt, STUPID. You are facing an avatar, in some cases a bot, in a one-dimensional world where a "tell" is non-existent.
To me, this is NOT poker. Or the place to play for "real". Sorry, I keep repeating this train of thought; to the "haters" and whiners, the sad sacks and sore losers, take your hard-earned bucks and go to a genuine real, live casino or card room, and play where at least you can look the donkey in the eye and bluff your way to a nice pay-off.
Don't blame PS or FT for making money off your lack of common sense. Go to these online poker sites to learn, watch, enjoy, free of the worry of losing REAL money. It's entertainment, plain and simple.
Entertainment!
However, it IS fun and there IS true value in improving your poker skills, intuitions, ability to roll with the punches (even those that are rigged) and exit a better, more experienced player, ready for the real games.
Shuffle up and deal.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Thursday, July 03, 2014
Title:Top MAN10 out of 19 readers found this review helpful
 
I really don't owe anyone an explanation but Ill give one...

First off, I don't owe poker a single thing. I've been fortunate enough to benefit financially from this game, but I have played it long enough to see the ugly side of this world. It is not a game where the pros are always happy and living a fulfilling life. To have a job where you are at the mercy of variance can be insanely stressful and can lead to a lot of unhealthy habits. I would never in a million years recommend for someone to try and make it as a poker pro.

It is also not a game where the amateurs are always happy to be losing their money for the sake of entertainment. The losers lose way more money at this game then winners are winning. A lot of this is money they cant afford to lose. This is fine of course because if someone is dumb enough to gamble with money they cant afford to lose, that's their problem. Im not really buying that though. In a perfect world, markets are based on informed consumers making rational transactions. In reality sadly that's not the case, markets are based on advertising trying to play on peoples impulses and targeting their weaknesses in order for them to make irrational decisions. I get it if someone wants to go and play poker on their own free will, but I don't agree with gambling being advertised just like I don't agree with cigarettes and alcohol being advertised.

It bothers me that people care so much about poker's well being. As poker is a game that has such a net negative effect on the people playing it. Both financially and emotionally.

As for promoting myself, I feel that individual achievements should rarely be celebrated. I am not going to take part in it for others and I wouldn't want it for myself. If you wonder why our society is so infatuated by individuals and their success, and being a baller, it is not that way for no reason. It is their because it serves a clear purpose. If you get people to look up to someone and adhere to the "gain wealth, forget all but self" motto, then you can get them to ignore the social contract which is very good for power systems. Also it serves as a means of distraction to get people to not pay attention to the things that do matter.

These are just my personal views. And yes, I realize I am conflicted. I capitalize off this game that targets peoples weaknesses. I do enjoy it, I love the strategy part of it, but I do see it as a very dark game.

Happy to read any ones opinions that could convince me otherwise of my views.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:deilegend
Date:Saturday, November 28, 2015
Title:Since when is poker an honest game...3 out of 8 readers found this review helpful
 
This is not about knocking down those that believe that they've been had at one poker site or another because, in all certainty many many players have been cheated on sites over the years, Pokerstars included.

In the same breath, many players have been cheated in live poker games as well, whether in private cash games or in casino cash games and even some tournaments, for many more years than in internet poker.

Internet poker will always be video poker's cousin because the goal of companies operating poker sites is to make money. In order to do that they have to be able to do what live poker rooms operators couldn't ever do and that is, to keep the eco system flush so players stay and play rather than go broke and never come back.

On sites like Pokerstars, you have perhaps half the cash game seats occupied by multiple table players. These players generate most of the revenues for the site's cash games division. So you can understand that Pokerstars is not about to regulate those players and limit them to playing one table as the company would loose at least half of its revenues...

So multi table players flourish and they are somewhat successful because they will spread their bank roll over ten or twenty tables and play against your two hundred bing blinds with their two thousand big blinds. That means that all they have to do 90% of the time is shove ten or twenty blinds bet at you to push you off a pot.

That to me is an unfair practice at any stake but, what is disturbing for the game here is that this happens at low level stakes games, which prevents new players from learning and building confidence in their game.

This brings poker back to its glory days where successful players weren't necessarily good players, they were rich players that could shove enough money to discourage the most intrepid gamblers of a game...

I believe that this issue could be corrected if regulators forced poker site operators to post the statistics of these multiple table players so everyone whom invests money on a table could at least see the total amount of the bank roll these players have against them.
Then, segregate multiple table players from single table players.

For example, if I'm playing at only one $1/2 table, and I have a bankroll in my account of $1,000.00, poker site operators should give me a choice of tables whereas the other players have the same bank roll I got or, give me a choice of tables whereas the other players have a history of maintaining a similar bank roll as mine.

Otherwise what Pokerstars and other sites should do is, at the very least, post a ledger with the names and statistics of their multiple table players so they can show how much money the company makes off the action of these players, whom lost against these players and finally how much these players make off their play at multiple tables per sessions.


Start with a level field and then let the deception begin.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Saturday, June 09, 2012
Title:only good for extreme volume players that can take advantage of the VIP5 out of 8 readers found this review helpful
 
let me start with the positive , banking is very good , i personally like the software layout and ease of play , possibly the best table and betting window from all the sites i know , player transfers are fast and u can sell T$ and the VIP program is very good and due to the huge volume u can usually can find a game ( not just no limit holdem )of your choice at almost any stake .

i've played semi pro for 3 years and i can tell you that i wont play the site unless i get a stake , I WILL NOT USE MY OWN MONEY ON THERE , and i wont even take a stake if it is for a short period of time , is not very large AND i keep everything related to the VIP program .... the place is so bad that it represents 90% of my stakes that have ended down 25% or more and i have only had 2-3 stakes that have made decent profits , most of the money that i have made on there has come from vpps where i bought into the major tournaments with points and was staked to play them therefore got to basically trade points for cold cash and cash in my share of the odd decent win.

an example of how bad the place is.... in 2010 i played 12 pots late in trnys (100 players left or less) which a win would have resulted into a top 5 position at the time. out of the 12 pot i had 0 coin flips , 2 7/3 and 5 over pairs , the other 5 were post flop 1 top set called a bluff shove no pair no draw and lost to runner runner ,the other 4 garden variety big favorite and lost ALL 12 pots , i am talking about turning gold into lead time after time.

i also never really looked into it more closely but i remember looking up the sunday million winners i do believe it was for the month of august 08/09 or 2010 and 3 weeks in a row it was players that were in their first trny ever on stars ....if anyone had the time to dig the dirt u will see that it's true and just for fun calculate the odds of that happening...

in short , if u have heaps of money and play 12 or more tables the VIP program may allow you to show some profit or if you get staked like i do. but all and all if you are an advanced player you basically are just keeping yourself away from possible decent profits playing somewhere better as every minute on there keeps u away from other sites.





 
Was this review helpful?

Page  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  




Copyright 2006-2015 PokerScout.com.  All rights reserved.
Do not copy, redistribute or republish without prior written consent.