Play now at Duck Poker

Online Poker Traffic
& News Since 2006
PokerScout -- Online poker traffic rankings and news. April 30, 2017
20961 players












Vevo Gaming







Click here for more information about PokerStars

Note: Reviews claiming that poker sites are rigged (not dealing cards randomly or fairly) are hidden by default. Read the explanation for this and other review policies, or click here to see all reviews, including claims that PokerStars is rigged.


PokerStars has a weighted average rating of 3.3 out of 10 from a total of 332 reviewers

Note: The opinions expressed here are solely those of our readers. PokerScout does not review or endorse any poker sites.
Rating:4 / 10
By:CaptDave
Date:Monday, May 13, 2013
Title:C'mon, really?3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
I tried PS with a $100 deposit and very quickly decided it was risky, stupid, and not why I was playing poker online.
I now play there regularly, mostly for "practice", to see hands, a little for the odd fellowship and fun, and to get that trill of the quad or straight flush, which occurs quite often and gives me a genuine rush.
Anyone playing poker with "real" money online is, well, to be blunt, STUPID. You are facing an avatar, in some cases a bot, in a one-dimensional world where a "tell" is non-existent.
To me, this is NOT poker. Or the place to play for "real". Sorry, I keep repeating this train of thought; to the "haters" and whiners, the sad sacks and sore losers, take your hard-earned bucks and go to a genuine real, live casino or card room, and play where at least you can look the donkey in the eye and bluff your way to a nice pay-off.
Don't blame PS or FT for making money off your lack of common sense. Go to these online poker sites to learn, watch, enjoy, free of the worry of losing REAL money. It's entertainment, plain and simple.
Entertainment!
However, it IS fun and there IS true value in improving your poker skills, intuitions, ability to roll with the punches (even those that are rigged) and exit a better, more experienced player, ready for the real games.
Shuffle up and deal.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Thursday, July 03, 2014
Title:Top MAN10 out of 19 readers found this review helpful
 
I really don't owe anyone an explanation but Ill give one...

First off, I don't owe poker a single thing. I've been fortunate enough to benefit financially from this game, but I have played it long enough to see the ugly side of this world. It is not a game where the pros are always happy and living a fulfilling life. To have a job where you are at the mercy of variance can be insanely stressful and can lead to a lot of unhealthy habits. I would never in a million years recommend for someone to try and make it as a poker pro.

It is also not a game where the amateurs are always happy to be losing their money for the sake of entertainment. The losers lose way more money at this game then winners are winning. A lot of this is money they cant afford to lose. This is fine of course because if someone is dumb enough to gamble with money they cant afford to lose, that's their problem. Im not really buying that though. In a perfect world, markets are based on informed consumers making rational transactions. In reality sadly that's not the case, markets are based on advertising trying to play on peoples impulses and targeting their weaknesses in order for them to make irrational decisions. I get it if someone wants to go and play poker on their own free will, but I don't agree with gambling being advertised just like I don't agree with cigarettes and alcohol being advertised.

It bothers me that people care so much about poker's well being. As poker is a game that has such a net negative effect on the people playing it. Both financially and emotionally.

As for promoting myself, I feel that individual achievements should rarely be celebrated. I am not going to take part in it for others and I wouldn't want it for myself. If you wonder why our society is so infatuated by individuals and their success, and being a baller, it is not that way for no reason. It is their because it serves a clear purpose. If you get people to look up to someone and adhere to the "gain wealth, forget all but self" motto, then you can get them to ignore the social contract which is very good for power systems. Also it serves as a means of distraction to get people to not pay attention to the things that do matter.

These are just my personal views. And yes, I realize I am conflicted. I capitalize off this game that targets peoples weaknesses. I do enjoy it, I love the strategy part of it, but I do see it as a very dark game.

Happy to read any ones opinions that could convince me otherwise of my views.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:8 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Saturday, February 09, 2013
Title:best poker site on the net right now3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
First of all, I'm not saying it's not rigged or that it is, no one didn't prove whether it is or is not rigged yet, both sides seems to give solid arguments and from my personal experience the bad beat frequency does sometimes seem very high, enough so that even i out of pure frustration a.k.a tilt start to believe it's rigged, however a good player will get his chips in behind a lot of the time if the situation is appropriate and will suckout a lot too, for example shoving blind on blind in a tournament for 8bb with any two cards and getting called by a big hand and winning. So the bad beats seem to even out in the long run if you play enough. Same is with coolers (KK vs AA) sometimes you will be on the losing end next time on the winning end, it all evens out in the long run. The main difference between a winning player and a losing player is maximizing value when you're ahead and minimizing loses when you're behind and that means knowing your opponent and his tendencies and of course controlling tilt, or at least trying to control it. Controlling tilt is pretty much the most important skill you can acquire as a poker player. Feel free to think it's rigged, and i detest people who say that it can't be rigged ,it's definitely possible, every sane rational guy knows that, but i guarantee you, if you study the game enough and play enough your edge will start to show, you have my word on that.

As for the site, overall i like it, i played on party poker, william hill, 888 and a bunch of others and they are all mediocre compared to pokerstars. The software is very practical and easy to use, multitabling is a breeze. The traffic is big so the games fill up quickly, tons of game variety for any type of player. Support is fine they always answered me in couple of hours time, didn't have any problems with them, and best of all, super fast cashouts unlike other sites where you have to wait days sometimes even weeks. So if you want play poker online this is by far the best site out there and the only one i can recommend. GL at the tables!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Saturday, June 09, 2012
Title:only good for extreme volume players that can take advantage of the VIP5 out of 8 readers found this review helpful
 
let me start with the positive , banking is very good , i personally like the software layout and ease of play , possibly the best table and betting window from all the sites i know , player transfers are fast and u can sell T$ and the VIP program is very good and due to the huge volume u can usually can find a game ( not just no limit holdem )of your choice at almost any stake .

i've played semi pro for 3 years and i can tell you that i wont play the site unless i get a stake , I WILL NOT USE MY OWN MONEY ON THERE , and i wont even take a stake if it is for a short period of time , is not very large AND i keep everything related to the VIP program .... the place is so bad that it represents 90% of my stakes that have ended down 25% or more and i have only had 2-3 stakes that have made decent profits , most of the money that i have made on there has come from vpps where i bought into the major tournaments with points and was staked to play them therefore got to basically trade points for cold cash and cash in my share of the odd decent win.

an example of how bad the place is.... in 2010 i played 12 pots late in trnys (100 players left or less) which a win would have resulted into a top 5 position at the time. out of the 12 pot i had 0 coin flips , 2 7/3 and 5 over pairs , the other 5 were post flop 1 top set called a bluff shove no pair no draw and lost to runner runner ,the other 4 garden variety big favorite and lost ALL 12 pots , i am talking about turning gold into lead time after time.

i also never really looked into it more closely but i remember looking up the sunday million winners i do believe it was for the month of august 08/09 or 2010 and 3 weeks in a row it was players that were in their first trny ever on stars ....if anyone had the time to dig the dirt u will see that it's true and just for fun calculate the odds of that happening...

in short , if u have heaps of money and play 12 or more tables the VIP program may allow you to show some profit or if you get staked like i do. but all and all if you are an advanced player you basically are just keeping yourself away from possible decent profits playing somewhere better as every minute on there keeps u away from other sites.





 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:No rating
By:reg
Date:Thursday, January 03, 2013
Title:where's a reg to play3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
where's a reg to play? top 10 sites have an average rating of 2. am I suppose to ignore these ratings?
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:dump
Date:Thursday, March 31, 2011
Title:dump37 out of 57 readers found this review helpful
 
in the real world, the best name that suits this is dump.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Sunday, November 01, 2015
Title:Pokerstars.net WORST Customer Service EVER. Ignorant, self righteous1 out of 3 readers found this review helpful
 

I had been signed up wit Pokerstars.net for about 4-6 years now and I just recently started playing real money games. A couple of things of interest: Especially different then other sites:

1. You can time when your going to start having good hands.
2. K's Q's and 9's show up more then any other cards and very noticeably.
3. A's rarely win

My biggest complaint is when I started missing money?? I finally realized with the help of Entropay where the money was going. When I deposit to Entropay they charge the exchange. So my funds in
Entropay are now in US dollars. When I deposited money from entropay to Pokerstars, Pokerstars would again charge me the exchange fee??? How they could charge an exchange from US Dollars to US dollars and charge the exchange rate I can't figure out? How could there computer do this? must be weirdly programmed! They had done this about 5 or 6 times now for about 15.00 a time, so they owe me about $75.00! they refuse to pay it and claim it is my fault?? Before I contacted them I searched to see if I could fix this problem myself. After about an hour of trying things nothing worked to Sync up the exchange fees. There was a drop down button that said it was in Canadian fees at Pokerstars but it couldn't be changed. I got upset and demanded my fees back and Support said this drop down button worked but they closed my account before I could even clean it out or take screen shot of this button not working. They were very unprofessional and rude if you don't agree with them. I will never play there again just for that let alone the weird algorithm they are using to deal cards. It's crazy how bad it is!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:4 / 10
By:key of destiny
Date:Sunday, May 25, 2014
Title:wikipedia Random Number Generator or go live, its your choice3 out of 6 readers found this review helpful
 
Understanding what a RNG does and why it does its actions is explainable to the point of a seed. This is why in tourneys players get picked up from tables continuesly , glitchy and pauses before certain cards are being dealt. Chip distribution of each and every player, and the way each and every result is based upon. Confident to say enough that there are aspects of it being random, but also its computerised and given the structure of poker of rebuy tournaments, cash table rakes, and a permanant ongoing algorithm to calculate results may very well seem that some but not all results are repetitive. After everything you read below the only thing that will never be rigged is a players poker skills. Evrything else is what you make of it and believe. I think its rigged purely because its a RNG is generated through a computer and a computer is never wrong - lets face it, Bill Gates would have never been succesful if a computer and its software was not synchronised properly from program management to the time of your PC. The best poker is and always will be live. Its the hands on experience but this does not mean you cannot make money online. Some sites are better than others tho.

Pseudo-random number generators (PRNGs) are algorithms that can automatically create long runs of numbers with good random properties but eventually the sequence repeats (or the memory usage grows without bound). The string of values generated by such algorithms is generally determined by a fixed number called a seed. One of the most common PRNG is the linear congruential generator, which uses the recurrence

X_{n+1} = (a X_n + b)\, \textrm{mod}\, m
to generate numbers. The maximum number of numbers the formula can produce is the modulus, m. To avoid certain non-random properties of a single linear congruential generator, several such random number generators with slightly different values of the multiplier coefficient a can be used in parallel, with a "master" random number generator that selects from among the several different generators

The earliest methods for generating random numbers — dice, coin flipping, roulette wheels — are still used today, mainly in games and gambling as they tend to be too slow for most applications in statistics and cryptography.

A physical random number generator can be based on an essentially random atomic or subatomic physical phenomenon whose unpredictability can be traced to the laws of quantum mechanics. Sources of entropy include radioactive decay, thermal noise, shot noise, avalanche noise in Zener diodes, clock drift, the timing of actual movements of a hard disk read/write head, and radio noise. However, physical phenomena and tools used to measure them generally feature asymmetries and systematic biases that make their outcomes not uniformly random. A randomness extractor, such as a cryptographic hash function, can be used to approach a uniform distribution of bits from a non-uniformly random source, though at a lower bit rate.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:Billyboy
Date:Sunday, November 04, 2012
Title:service4 out of 7 readers found this review helpful
 
Any one can say whay they want, but if you want your money safe and secure, Stars is top notch. Requested a cashout- 45 minutes in the bank. Cant beat that any where!!
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:2 / 10
By:EvilPlayer
Date:Monday, August 22, 2011
Title:LoherStars3 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
I played cash games, some 50,000 hands, and noticed that downstring: upstring >> 6. On the other rooms the situation is much better. I do not play there than freerolls.
 
Was this review helpful?

Page  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  




Copyright 2006-2015 PokerScout.com.  All rights reserved.
Do not copy, redistribute or republish without prior written consent.