Hive Poker

Online Poker Traffic
& News Since 2006
PokerScout -- Online poker traffic rankings and news. November 23, 2017
40991 players












GameIntel Data Reports







Click here for more information about PokerStars

Note: Reviews claiming that poker sites are rigged (not dealing cards randomly or fairly) are hidden by default. Read the explanation for this and other review policies, or click here to see all reviews, including claims that PokerStars is rigged.


PokerStars has a weighted average rating of 3.2 out of 10 from a total of 338 reviewers

Note: The opinions expressed here are solely those of our readers. PokerScout does not review or endorse any poker sites.
Rating:8 / 10
By:just me
Date:Friday, June 24, 2011
Title:in these days of id theft...6 out of 15 readers found this review helpful
 
I'm retired, and have only been playing on the pokerstars site for a few months, and, as I only use play money, I have consistently refused to provide them with id, copy of passport, etc. Because of this, I have now been suspended. Not a big deal, as there were no financial implications for either me or them; but how small-minded of pokerstars.

They argue that as I have been given (they refused to take it back!) 33 cents of 'promotional money' that I now have an active real money A/C.

Not really a newsworthy item in a sea of serious poker players, but I couldn't resist having my dig...
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:oz70
Date:Tuesday, June 07, 2011
Title:can't believe it!2 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
Pokerstars was my original choice due to volume, but i find the volume of games confusing, they try & get you in on the casino & bingo too, by making you go into areas you are not interested in.

I lost a fair bit of time, before a friend recommended 888. Lower volumes of punters but great pots & the cgi (software) is excellent.

cheers & good luck
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:2 / 10
By:Msull44
Date:Friday, April 22, 2016
Title:False deposit advertising beware 0 out of 0 readers found this review helpful
 
Hi I want to give my honest experience with Pokerstars NJ online. I made a deposit using my MasterCard. When making the deposit with the MasterCard method the website clearly states there will be no fees. So I go ahead with the deposit. A couple of days later I notice a pending cash advance charge on my credit card statement from Pokerstars NJ. I contacted Pokerstars to request reimbursement on the cash advance fee. I was told its my responsibility to pay the charge and the credit card company could charge the cash advance fee if that's there policy. I trusted the clearly written statement that there would be no fees for using the credit card (it's still there by the way) and If I knew there would be a cash advance fee I would never have made the deposit. I just want to make people aware of the false advertising and the poor customer service Pokerstars NJ offers its customers. I know I will never play there again and I hope this helps others to not be victims of the false advertising Pokerstars NJ is running.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:2 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Friday, April 01, 2016
Title:Disappointed0 out of 0 readers found this review helpful
 
I much preferred the site under the old management. Hard to tell what the rake is now but the games don't appear profitable for anyone. The games I've played in aren't rigged, they don't need to be considering the rake they charge.

Then again, would you expect a site run by crooks to be fair?
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:lol
Date:Tuesday, April 30, 2013
Title:The Truth1 out of 3 readers found this review helpful
 
fish will always cry and blame RNG.. that's why poker is sooooo profitable
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:8 / 10
By:cris
Date:Thursday, April 15, 2010
Title:good20 out of 49 readers found this review helpful
 
I play in pokerstars for about 2 years.

My conclusion:

- graffics - cold be better
- cash in - good (use ukash)
- cash out - good and quick ( 2 days bank transfer)
- many players, tourneys....cash games etc....many many tables ... good
- support - quick...good
- software - good
- no rakeback but fpp with entries in tourneys etc...aceptable

- and for last - they change the cash in for some tables, proctecting it from shortstakes - wonderfull.

For new players it is perfect, secure....etc...gl

 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:Uranus 2457.
Date:Thursday, September 29, 2016
Title:Good site.0 out of 2 readers found this review helpful
 
I have been banned from the site because I kept arguing with customer service about rake and I admit I was quite rude to Scott.
I have apologised and it was all my fault not Poker Stars fault.

The site is very good with decent games at all buy in levels so all players regardless of B/R can participate.

The rewards programme is very top heavy so it is better to get Gold status or above to benefit more if possible.

I do feel that a lot of reviews are unfair against Poker Stars, stating the game is fixed, rigged and calling it Joker Stars. The game play seems as it should be.
There is nothing to gain from rigging or fixing it because Poker Stars name and the security measures they go to too make the game play safe would just damaged their good reputation.

Players just get emotional and upset with the outcomes and sometimes frustrated as I did.

Even the professionals players get frustrated but they manage to keep focused with experience.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:james
Date:Saturday, September 24, 2016
Title:Masterpiece0 out of 5 readers found this review helpful
 
Best site ever!
If you play solid poker game this site is for you.
You will triple your money in minutes.
The fish has no chance on this site.
Never got any badbeats.

10/10 will play again.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Monday, April 28, 2014
Title:Not Rigged2 out of 7 readers found this review helpful
 
You people complaining about Stars being rigged have either a) a very small sample size, b) no understanding of variance, or c) both. I mean come on, most of you guys are either micro grinders or rec players that play way above their means and put in like 10k hands a month at most. It's a card game for fks sake, there are going to be upswings and downswings. Combine that with the fact that most of you are either breakeven or losing players, OF COURSE you're going to have losing stretches. Pokerstars has the most traffic of any network, has fish depositing every few seconds, and is making hundreds of thousands from rake daily. You really think they have any reason to rig some micro stakes donkament player's account for a few extra dollars? Give me a break. Stars has no problems with traffic and attracting fish (I mean you guys play there, right?) and is also under very heavy scrutiny to the point where they couldn't rig their software even if they wanted to. Overall, the site is great. I've played 300k+ hands on it, and even though I've had 20BI downswings I knew it was just variance and kept playing and ended up winning alot long-term. Long story short, if you want a site that has:

- The best customer support available
- Smooth and highly customizable software
- The best traffic of any site in the world
- The best security of any site in the world
- The best reputation and the least likely chance of anything shady going on

then Stars is for you. Just please learn to understand variance before you play on ANY site or else you'll think everything is rigged.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:7 / 10
By:Wehannikahtain
Date:Saturday, November 15, 2014
Title:Good play, bad complaint handling1 out of 4 readers found this review helpful
 
As far as playing on the game. It is now only play money for the U.S. but that is okay for me because I only ever did use the play money feature.

I like the playing of the game, I re-installed it after a few years of not playing it. Now it is more relaxed and there is not so many players that raise and go all in, all the time, because it is play money. They usually seem to treat each hand as if it is real money.

The problem with Pokerstars.com is how they handle problems the members might have.

Outside of problems someone might have had with a deal or hand, the only other problems would be with purchases.

I had a problem with buying play chips. You can buy more play money, which is ironic, but can get you playing in the bigger play money games. I picked the $1.99 package, which would be 350 thousand worth of play money. It instantly declined my card. I checked with my bank. They received no charge request. I followed all the tips from pokerstars, I updated all my personal information so they could check that with the card information. Declined it instantly again. I checked with the bank. No charge request from Pokerstars.
So I contacted pokerstars and explained it. They immediately said it was my card issuer and I should contact them. I explained, AGAIN, that I already did and it never got to my bank. They forwarded it to their payment department and someone there immediately told me, on autopilot it was my card issuer and that I should contact them. I told them again, like the forwarded email already explained, that all that had been done and the bank never got it.

No reply. I re-contacted the first Pokerstars help department, that the payment dept. was no help. A day later someone from the sales dept. there, said to basically not contact Pokerstars about that, and to contact my card issuer. Or how they put it exactly; "If you are having issues purchasing Play Money chips, you will need to
contact your payment provider directly for further assistance, and not
PokerStars."
This is actually a problem a lot of businesses are having. The employees don't know to deal with problems with their merchant programs. Cards are getting declined and they don't know what to do, and the default response is to tell the buyer to contact their bank. Unfortunately they make it worse by coming off like they don't care, and are not listening.
They just lost the U.S for real money purchases, and yet they tell buyers, they are not interested in helping and it is their problem.

 
Was this review helpful?

Page  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  




Copyright 2006-2017 PokerScout.com.  All rights reserved.
Do not copy, redistribute or republish without prior written consent.