Play now at PlanetWin365

Online Poker Traffic
& News Since 2006
PokerScout -- Online poker traffic rankings and news. June 28, 2017
42330 players












Vevo Gaming







Click here for more information about SkyPoker

Note: Reviews claiming that poker sites are rigged (not dealing cards randomly or fairly) are hidden by default. Read the explanation for this and other review policies, or click here to see all reviews, including claims that SkyPoker is rigged.


SkyPoker has a weighted average rating of 3.3 out of 10 from a total of 83 reviewers

Note: The opinions expressed here are solely those of our readers. PokerScout does not review or endorse any poker sites.
Rating:1 / 10
By:Aquanaut1
Date:Friday, November 02, 2012
Title:The Worst Poker Experience of My Life2 out of 4 readers found this review helpful
 
OK so you've just reached the Final Table of an important tournament. Why would you want to play that FT when you could instead not play at all and just watch the chips changing hands in the lobby?

The obvious answer being that you can't actually win any hands if you're sitting out of the game, so you'll just get blinded out!

So nobody in their right mind would ever want to do this, but if you ever do then go play SKY Poker!

It was a couple of night ago in their UKOPS 3 event with £5k (~$8K) up top. I was chip leader and had just busted the 7th placed player to reach a 6 handed FT. And then I get told I'd disconnected from the table for the 3rd or 4th time that tournament. Again I went to the tournament lobby to reload the table as I had done before. Except this time it didn't work.

During the next 70 minutes I posted an urgent message on their forums and tried about 10 different things to get playing the game again. Nothing worked. So I sat there watching from the lobby as I got blinded out in 4th. I don't know where I would have finished had I been able to play, but I lost a ton in equity. Sitting out either made me a maximum of £500 (6th to 4th) or lost me a maximum of £3.3k (4th to 1st). It was one of the worst experiences I've had in 5 years of playing online poker.

I could load up and watch every single table on the site except from the one that I was playing. There was nothing wrong with my connection. Sounds like a software fault to me. I checked with people on their forums and sure enough other people had encountered the same problem on numerous occasions.

So I contacted customer support to complain about this. Just like I expected I got a cut 'n' paste reply saying how the defective Sky Poker software malfunctioning is somehow my fault, and they aren't responsible for failing to provide a reliable service. They have no interest in fixing their shoddy software so things like this will continue to happen.

This is their marquee series and was initially planned to feature the highlights of the final stages in a TV show. Because of what happened they couldn't show the event without having to explain why one of the players was sitting out the entire time, so they had to switch coverage to another tournament instead. I received absolutely no official acknowledgement let alone apology or compensation. Their customer service is nearly as bad as the poker client.

The moral of the story is to avoid 3rd rate poker sites with horrible software. All types of things can go wrong and it could cost you.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:7 / 10
By:'punchy'
Date:Sunday, October 21, 2012
Title:LOL at the moaning LOSERS on here.4 out of 8 readers found this review helpful
 
One thing connects every negative review on here - you all lose money playing poker. You're all losing players. Now let's look at why that is shall we.

Is it because you're bad? You make bad calls, play in bad positions, your raise sizing is bad, you play bad starting hands, you select bad tables to play on, you take on the wrong opponents at said tables, you play out of your limit, you have no clue about BRM, you don't know how to play draws, you're clueless on pot odds and implied odds, reverse implied odds - what are they? fold equity? nope, don't know that one either.

Or is it because Sky and every other poker site really is trying to nick your 4 quid off you. BTW, for you plebs that don't know, the rake is capped on every site, so past a certain point they make no money at all. Also the whole 'once you withdraw you lose' thing is laughable. My first ever post on the community was 'this sites a joke you can't beat roulette players'. Guess what? I went and learned about the game and have withdrawn 3 figures multiple times after building up from just 5 BI's.

The community is indeed full of nobs though, you're fine if your face fits round there but in general it's full of 'Sky Poker can do no wrong' ass eaters. The kind who will vehemently defend Skys AWFUL software (lag and disconnect issues are rife) and ridicule recreational players who post saying they have the problem. The problem IS with Sky, not with your computer, although the douches on the forum and Support will tell you it's your fault.

In short, please keep depositing your money because i would like to take it. Then you can perhaps convince yourself i'm part of Team Sky or something.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:No rating
By:Confessed
Date:Tuesday, November 22, 2011
Title:If you can't beat them, join them1 out of 2 readers found this review helpful
 
I make hundreds a month off SkyPoker.
PokerShark will kindly highlight new players, if you chat to them then chances are they are using the atrocious web interface and will crash out, leaving them open to the ridiculous angleshooting raise. Brings sharking to a whole new level, trust me!

The funny thing is the "client" is actually exactly the same as the web version ie Flash and bad at that, with the same front end (no joke) that is slow and unresponsive, often delusional at times. For example, if a tournament says that there are 10 players registered it can mean between 2 and 200 given that there is an absolutely massive delay on the counter as well as registering/unregistering.
Hell, the protocol even uses TCP which is connection based... so even though an IDENTICAL game on PokerStars would run fine without lag, if there is a slight hiccup in your hop to the server you will feel it. The Sky servers are largely unmaintained and all players every few days notice the lags.

We see waves of people from one location at a time fall sucker to the advertising machine that is Sky, it is quite funny to watch. Hell, the Sky community is one of the most laughable on the scene for starters because the algorithm behind the cards is simply a triple-DES clock-synced pseudo-random generator, leaving ~200k combinations at any given time if you have your clock synchronised. After the flop this can be almost definitely ascertained given the pot cards and the deck cards by even a laptop power computer. Sky are fully aware of this issue but the overall "distribution" of cards means that it technically is fair overall which is the only thing their regulator looks for, so they win as the algorithm offers faster playthrough and therefore more rake per hour. Plus, bots galore everybody! You cannot beat a TSP member, they have Team 51 for show as this is entirely a human based show team but TSP is more than this.

Cashouts are rapid but obviously rare, it is cleaven in half similar to the idealistic capital world: you are either very rich and rake thousands out per month from Sky, or you are hoovered back in for more and poor/lose. You will never see a player on Sky on any of the poker search engines who has made a few thousand and quit. That is guaranteed.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:9 / 10
By:Team51 Captain - Sky Poker
Date:Wednesday, November 23, 2011
Title:LOL reviews12 out of 27 readers found this review helpful
 
Well I've had a chuckle reading some of the reviews on here. I'm particularly interested in the poster who says that you can't beat a TSP player and that Team51 are a show team - that is just LOL! TSP is Team sky Poker and the members are largely chosen from the regular cash, STT and MTT players on the site. Team51 was started by myself and membership is open to all. There are for that matter 6 teams that regularly compete against each other on Monday evenings. The formation and running of those teams is nothing to do with Sky Poker - It's all organised and run by the team captains and members.

On a personal note: I've played poker for many years and online for close on ten years. I have been profitable for 9 of those years from just playing MTT's. I also play on Stars in the higher value MTT's and a number of other sites. I class Sky as my ''home site'' because of the community atmosphere there. I am only a part-time player with a job and a family. I have positive accounts on 4 sites and my MTT profits on Sky for 2011 are over $25,000. All that from playing a couple of MTT's a night.

There is the full spectrum of abilities on Sky, just as there are on all sites. No individual is favoured over any other. If your game is good enough you can win - if it's not you won't. Simple as that.

I'm not a bot or a Sky employee, I'm a part-time recreational player who has accounts at all the major sites but chooses to play most of his poker on Sky.

Finally, I would just like to say thanks to all the bad losers who have written most of the junk on here for contributing to my $25,000 profit this year. Keep wasting your time writing junk, and whatever you do, don't use that time to improve your game - I love you all.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:passit
Date:Monday, May 23, 2016
Title:great site0 out of 11 readers found this review helpful
 
its trusted and true.i love this poker site.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:TiKay
Date:Thursday, October 11, 2012
Title:Stop whining and get back to the tables!1 out of 3 readers found this review helpful
 
Accept bad beats are part of the game you morons. Dont you know anything about variance. Myself and Richard love donks like you lot, so please do not leave.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:55013
Date:Sunday, September 16, 2012
Title:Great site1 out of 3 readers found this review helpful
 
Only been on SP for a year but find it a very good site and very trustworthy. Good TV Channel and guests as well.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:10 / 10
By:Anonymous
Date:Monday, May 21, 2012
Title:Sky2 out of 6 readers found this review helpful
 
This site has an incredibly weak field of players. If you can't win on this site it's not because it's fixed it's because you're sh-- at poker.

Bad thing is the player base is small but it's growing and the big plus is they play in £ not $.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:6 / 10
By:Nick
Date:Wednesday, November 14, 2012
Title:What a load of idiot losers writing these reviews2 out of 7 readers found this review helpful
 
What a ridiculous set of reviews; almost every single one is a moronic, losing player moaning about a few bad beats in a row (one even talked about one hand that was actually 40/60 and attempted to prove, using just that, that the site is rigged).

Well I'm sorry to tell you that, just because you can't win on it, that doesn't mean it is rigged.

Sky is not perfect- their software is poor- make sure you have a good internet connection if you want stability, and you can't do as many tables as on other sites, but the players are TERRIBLE. If you can't beat those players, just give up poker. The site is not rigged- if it is, I must be one of the employees without knowing it! Grow up and have a go on sky if you want to face terrible players and you are in the UK.
 
Was this review helpful?
Rating:1 / 10
By:alichris66
Date:Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Title:alichris660 out of 1 readers found this review helpful
 
I bought into a 22 pound game last night and I didn't get a registration to that game .. it's. It the first time that's happened so I am totally feeling crazy .
 
Was this review helpful?

Page  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  




Copyright 2006-2015 PokerScout.com.  All rights reserved.
Do not copy, redistribute or republish without prior written consent.